hawthornden castle anon

This news is a bit old, but still exciting for me to think about. On the night of November 22, 2011, I found a yellow envelope waiting on the table. The address was handwritten. The stamp, a purple crown. The message inside, elegant and formal. I’ve received a 2012 fellowship to the Hawthornden International Retreat for Writers at Hawthornden Castle, Lasswade, Midlothian, Scotland. I’m considering prefacing it with a wild swim through the Scottish Inner Hebrides & the Gulf of Corryvreckan, a five-day walking and swimming adventure that begins in Craighouse on the island of Jura and ends in the hamlet of Craobh Haven. I’d need a wet suit. And what would I do with my luggage and laptop? That part is undecided.

This entry was posted in place names. Bookmark the permalink.