the study down the path

Haven’t been sleeping much. I wake up at 1 or 2 or 3 and get up and light the fire and stay up.

When dawn breaks I walk the path to the study and stay there until I’ve finished my coffee and my morning reading because the way is wide and the view is clean. This was a couple of mornings ago. 

There’s something else about the study, called Bob’s Study, after Robert Fernald, a zoologist educated at UC Berkeley, and one of the founding directors of Friday Harbor Laboratories.

There is a portrait of him beside the door. I look at it every time I leave the room, even for a few minutes. His eyes are my conscience. It’s as if he speaks to me when I walk past. So you’ve been doing some thinking today, have you.

 

 

This entry was posted in place names. Bookmark the permalink.